OUR RICH HISTORY

The villages of Viré and Clessé have always been associated with vine cultivation, with the very first signs dating back to Antiquity. As Christianity became established, so grape growing spread, from the 5thcentury onwards. In the 17thcentury, the vines of Viré and Clessé were named in the inventory of the châtellenie de Vérizet. In 1844, Viré had 215 hectares of vines. Local winegrowers submitted their first request to the INAO for municipal AOC classification for Viré and Quintaine, the neighbouring hamlet, in 1963. It was unsuccessful, as was a further attempt in 1973. In 1988, the Viré winegrowers union made an application for municipal appellation recognition. The Clessé union did likewise in 1991. The committee appointed to assess the applications suggested that – in view of the “homogeneity of the terroirs of both villages” – the two unions should submit a joint request for the creation of a municipal Viré-Clessé appellation. This was achieved in 1997.

Vérizet: a renaissance

Vérizet is the name of a village that no longer exists, as it is now part of Viré. Viré and Vérizet merged in 1968 and the named geographical location of Vérizet was consigned to the past. And yet it lives on through our wines!

Viré: a destiny in a name

The Latin word viriaco, meaning “vine cultivation”, attests to the ancient roots of Viré’s wine-growing tradition. The cartularies of Saint-Vincent de Mâcon and Cluny record wine payments as early as the 7thcentury in Viré and Quintaine, indicating that wine has historically been the area’s main crop. The village of Viré belonged in turn to the bishop and to the chapter of Mâcon cathedral. In circa 1000, the vineyard extended from Morgon to Tournus, including Viré, Uchizy and Plottes, among other villages. On 19 January 1616, Viré and its vineyards were listed in the inventory of the Châtellenie de Vérizet.

Our cellar will soon be 100 years old

1928 – Beginnings

The Cave Coopérative de Viré was founded in 1928. Various producers voluntarily joined forces with the aim of surviving the financial difficulties caused by the First World War and phylloxera.
The Cave had always been renowned for the quality of its white wines and was also very much ahead of its time commercially.
From 1958 onwards, under the chairmanship of René Boudier, it began to market its wines in Paris where a cuvée of Viré wine was inaugurated annually in Montmartre, which was twinned with Viré.
The first cellar to retail wine by the litre, it went on to pioneer the sale of the 75 cl bottle in 1970. The Cave entered the export market in 1972, going against the advice of the Burgundy wine trade, which subsequently boycotted its wines.

1995 – L’alliance avec la cave de Sennecé-lès-Mâcon

The Cave de Sennecé-lès-Mâcon strengthened and supported Viré’s business, which had suffered from the urban development of the town of Mâcon and the surrounding area, losing land and estates.
A merger took place in 1995 between the two wine cellars, leading to the creation of the “chai de Sennecé”, a storehouse located in the centre of the village.

1997 – An appellation comes into being

The Viré-Clessé appellation was created by decree on 5th municipal appellation in the Mâconnais.
It ultimately took 61 years and an alliance between winegrowers in the villages of Viré and Clessé before the INAO approved the appellation.
From that point on, the regional appellation of Mâcon-Viré, originally created in 1936, became the village appellation of Viré-Clessé.
Grape harvesting, vinification, blending and élevage of the wines is carried out at the following locations in the department of Saône-et-Loire: Clessé, Laizé, Montbellet and Viré. The total surface area of the vineyard is 390 hectares.

2009 – The Cave de Viré opens its doors

In the late 2000s, the Cave de Viré began a new venture. It contributed to the renovation of the centre of the village of Viré by establishing a new tasting venue right by the production buildings. This signalled the genesis of the Cave de Viré as the brand it is today. The venue is dedicated to tasting and presenting our terroirs.

The Cave de Viré in figures

• Surface area of vines linked to the Cave:
240 hectares
• Wine producers: 150 cooperative members
including 40 winegrowers
• Average production: 15,000 hectolitres
• 5 appellations
• 17 employees
• 1,500,000 bottles produced annually

APPELLATIONS

AOP Mâcon
AOP Mâcon-Villages
AOP Mâcon Péronne
AOP Viré-Clessé
AOP Crémant de Bourgogne

The first purchase order,
dated 4 March 1928

Vérizet - Cave de Viré © 2021 - L'ABUS D'ALCOOL EST DANGEREUX POUR LA SANTÉ - CONSOMMER AVEC MODÉRATION - Mentions légales
en_GBEN
fr_FRFR en_GBEN

NOTRE HISTOIRE

De tout temps, les villages de Viré et de Clessé ont été liés à la culture de la vigne. On trouve les premières traces dès l’Antiquité. L’implantation du christianisme a favorisé, dès le VIe siècle, l’extension de la vigne. Au XVIIe siècle, le nom des vignes de Viré et de Clessé figure dans le dénombrement de la châtellenie de Vérizet. En 1844, Viré compte 215 hectares de vignes. En 1963, les vignerons déposent pour la première fois auprès de l’INAO une demande de classement en AOC communale pour Viré et Quintaine, le hameau voisin. La tentative de 1973 n’aboutit pas plus. En 1988, le syndicat des viticulteurs de Viré dépose un dossier pour une reconnaissance d’appellation communale. Le syndicat de Clessé fait de même en 1991. La commission d’enquête nommée propose aux deux syndicats de déposer une demande commune pour la création d’une appellation communale Viré-Clessé en raison de “l’homogénéité des terroirs des deux communes.” Ce qui est fait en 1997.

Vérizet, une renaissance

Vérizet est le nom d’une ancienne commune, aujourd’hui intégrée à Viré. En effet, les communes de Viré et de Vérizet ont fusionné en 1968 de sorte que le lieu géographique Vérizet n’a plus d’existence en tant que tel. Mais il continue d’exister à travers nos vins !

Viré, un nom prédestiné

Le mot latin Viriaco signifie “culture de la vigne”, ce qui prouve le caractère antique de la tradition viticole de Viré. Les cartulaires de Saint-Vincent de Mâcon et de Cluny attestent l’existence de redevances de vin dès le viie siècle à Viré et Quintaine. Ceci montre que le vin a toujours été la principale culture. Le village de Viré appartenait tantôt directement à l’évêque, tantôt au chapitre de la cathédrale de Mâcon. Vers l’an 1000, le vignoble s’étendait de Morgon à Tournus en passant entre autres par Viré, Uchizy et Plottes. Le 19 janvier 1616, les noms de Viré et de ses vignes figurent dans le dénombrement de la châtellenie de Vérizet.

Notre Cave bientôt centenaire

1928 – La naissance

La Cave coopérative de Viré est née en 1928, de l’union de différents producteurs volontaires souhaitant faire face aux difficultés économiques causées par la Première Guerre mondiale et le phylloxera.
Elle a toujours été réputée pour la qualité de ses vins blancs et a été également très en avance sur son temps en matière de commerce.
À partir de 1958, sous la présidence de René Boudier, elle commercialisa ses vins à Paris où, chaque année, une cuvée de vin de Viré était baptisée à Montmartre, commune jumelée avec Viré.
Elle fut la première cave à vendre au détail en litre, puis pionnière en 1970 de la vente en bouteille de 75 cl avant d’entreprendre l’export en 1972, contre l’avis du négoce bourguignon, qui boycotta ses vins.

1995 – L’alliance avec la cave de Sennecé-lès-Mâcon

La Cave de Sennecé-lès-Mâcon vient renforcer et soutenir l’activité de Viré, elle qui a subi l’urbanisation de la ville de Mâcon et de ses alentours en perdant de multiples surfaces et domaines.
Une fusion est effectuée en 1995 entre les caves, fusion qui donnera naissance en 1996 au caveau “Le chai de Sennecé” situé au centre du village.

1997 – La naissance d’une appellation

L’appellation Viré-Clessé voit le jour par décret du 5 novembre 1997 et devient la 5e appellation communale du Mâconnais.
Il aura fallu 61 années d’attente et l’alliance des vignerons des villages de Viré et de Clessé pour que l’INAO valide la création de cette appellation.
Dès lors, l’appellation régionale de Mâcon-Viré créée en 1936 devient l’appellation village du Viré-Clessé.
La récolte des raisins, la vinification, l’élaboration et l’élevage des vins sont assurés sur le territoire des communes suivantes de notre département de Saône-et-Loire : Clessé, Laizé, Montbellet et Viré. La surface totale du vignoble est de 390 hectares.

2009 – Ouverture de la Maison… Cave de Viré

À la fin des années 2000, la Cave de Viré innove et apporte sa participation à la rénovation du cœur du village de Viré en aménageant son nouvel espace de dégustation aux pieds des bâtiments de production. C’est l’ouverture de la Maison… Cave de Viré, un lieu de vente dédié à la dégustation et à la découverte de nos terroirs.

La Cave de Viré en quelques chiffres…

• Surface de vignes rattachées à la cave :
240 hectares
• Viticulteurs : 150 coopérateurs
dont 40 vignerons
• Production moyenne : 15 000 hectolitres
• 5 appellations
• 17 salariés
• 1 500 000 cols produits chaque année

LES APPELLATIONS

AOP Mâcon
AOP Mâcon-Villages
AOP Mâcon Péronne
AOP Viré-Clessé
AOP Crémant de Bourgogne

Premier bon de commande,
le 4 mars 1928

Vérizet - Cave de Viré © 2021 - L'ABUS D'ALCOOL EST DANGEREUX POUR LA SANTÉ - CONSOMMER AVEC MODÉRATION - Mentions légales
fr_FRFR
en_GBEN fr_FRFR